Knowing my Why

Knowing my Why

Awhile ago I came across this article on twitter:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/petergreene/2019/06/08/dear-teachers-please-dont-make-your-lessons-relevant/#4c5aa11552f5

It reminded me of a science conference I went to years ago about animal dissections. The speaker challenged the participants to know their why for (or against) dissection and own it. His advice stuck with me. I deeply considered the pros and cons and refined my opinion to form my solid why. It came in handy multiple times, but mostly for myself. It felt refreshing, almost freeing to have this thing that I knew I could speak to without hesitation.

Looking back, the rest of my why of instruction was never as focused or clear. Maybe because I was teaching six different grade levels three different branches of science while also navigating how to integrate these with elementary reading curriculum. I think the closest I came was when I took a year to refocus my energy around outdoor learning and my roots of environmental education. My why came from a quote that I can’t seem to trace back to its origin: “You can’t protect what you don’t love and you can’t love something if you don’t know it.” It became part of my mission to at least expose my students to the outdoors and help them ‘know’ it, hoping that many, or at least some, would love it.

In 2012 I started taking courses at the University of St. Thomas in St.Paul for the Certificate of Engineering for Educators program. I learned about Cains Arcade (http://cainesarcade.com/) at the same time I learned about FabLabs. Knowing that tools existed that could turn ideas into reality struck a chord in me. The content and skills I learned in this program expanded my knowledge of what was possible in education.

I wasn’t able to put into words until after my fellowship at the Teachers Guild. While immersing myself in a Design Thinking project my why became clear: I believe every person is capable of having a positive influence in the world. I believe my students to hold in them the power of positive change. I want to help them see what they are capable of. This is my passion and drive and it only took my 24 years to figure out! I don’t regret and wouldn’t take back my time as a science teacher. I loved it and had a positive impact on students, as far as I can tell. I learned many skills and processes and taught alongside fabulous educators that also taught me many things.

Fast forward to my current situation: I have left the position I’ve been in for twelve years to start something new. I’m starting my 25th year of teaching in a totally unfamiliar building with many tools that I have some skill with, but certainly have not mastered. I’ve left a title that I felt defined me for the last twenty-four years to embrace my why. While this transition was summarized in three paragraphs, it has not been easy or a quick decision. Change is hard. Shifting your vision is tricky. Leaving your comfort zone is frightening. But. I feel confident that this was the right decision. I’m sure I’ll have many hard times, many things that won’t work the way I imagined and times that will be outright frustrating. But something else I’m sure about is my why.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar