Rolling From Inquiry into Engineering Design

Rolling From Inquiry into Engineering Design

I was recently asked to contribute to the NSTA Early Years Blog. I am pleased to share the post that was recently published on their website:

http://nstacommunities.org/blog/2019/01/15/rolling-from-inquiry-into-engineering-design/

I enjoyed taking the time to write about this experience. I also found myself thinking about additional experiences and questions that could be explored or documented from this:

  • Add some data collection by having students leave each item where it lands, letting us see which one rolls the furthest.
  • Offering additional shapes to test and inquire about
  • Have another grade 3D print some shapes to observe and test

Writing this article was also a good reminder for me to take time and reflect. Something I see as so vital to the process for students should be just as vital for myself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar